Solarium.gov will no longer be receiving updates.
For up-to-date content, please visit cybersolarium.org

How We Were Founded

The Cyberspace Solarium Commission (CSC) was established in the John S. McCain National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2019 to "develop a consensus on a strategic approach to defending the United States in cyberspace against cyber attacks of significant consequences." The finished report was presented to the public on March 11, 2020.

Who We Are

The CSC is led by bicameral, bipartisan co-chairs, Senator Angus King (I-Maine) and Representative Mike Gallagher (R-Wisconsin). Its 10 Commissioners include 4 legislators and 5 nationally recognized experts from outside of government. The Commission Staff is led by Executive Director Mark Montgomery, who leads a staff of experts with experience in the federal government and private sector.


Infographic prepared by students at the U.S. Naval Academy.